ADF Power Tuning

Slide background

Fallbericht: Seacor Glory

Seacor Glory kann ABS-Normen einhalten und mehr

Seacor Glory

Voltage distortion has been reduced significantly and continuous monitoring of the vessel’s power quality has been achieved

Hintergrund

Seacor Marine bietet Unterstützungsdienste für die Offshore-Öl- und -Gasförderung an und betreibt eine Flotte von Hochseeschiffen für Schifffahrts-Dienstleistungen. Eines der Schiffe des Unternehmens, die Seacor Glory, ist ein dieselelektrischer Offshore-Frachter mit Gleichstrommotoren, der vor allem im Golf von Mexiko operiert.

Aufgabe

Die Seacor Glory wurde 2014–2015 generalüberholt und an die neuesten elektrischen und mechanischen Richtlinien von American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) angepasst. Nach diesen Vorschriften gelten für die Stromnetze der Schiffe der Klasse der Seacor Glory folgende Grenzwerte: 8 % Gesamt-Oberschwingungsbelastung der Spannung und 5 % einzeln. Aufgrund der starken Spannungseinbrüche in Verbindung mit den Thyristorantrieben und Gleichstrommotoren des Schiffes war die nicht kompensierte Belastung äußerst hoch – die Gesamt-Oberschwingungsbelastung der Spannung betrug 20 %!

Aufgrund der ungewöhnlich niedrigen Deckhöhe der Seacor Glory Schaltanlagenraum sind die Schaltschränke besonders niedrig. Aufgrund des beengten Platzes war eine kompakte Lösung optimal.

Lösung

In order to ensure Seacor Glory would meet the voltage THD mandates from ABS, ADF Power Tuning was implementedDamit die Seacor Glory die ABS-Vorgaben zur Oberschwingungsbelastung einhalten kann, implementierte der Netzoptimierer Electric Power Design die Lösung ADF Power Tuning.

ADF Power Tuning wurde Anfang 2015 in Texas in den Schaltanlagenraum eingebaut und dann nach Namibia verbracht, wo das Schiff für die Installation im Frühjahr 2015 im Hafen lag. Die Lösung wurde abschließend im Sommer 2015 in Betrieb genommen.

Jede Seite der 600-V-Sammelschiene des Schiffes wurde mit jeweils einem Satz von drei ADF-PPM300-Einheiten ausgerüstet. Das PPM300 ist ein Wechselrichtermodul in einem ADF P300. In diesem Falle wurden vom Kunden die Komponenten – und nicht komplette Systeme – erworben und dann von diesem auch im Schiff verbaut. Da die Systeme als Komponenten angeliefert wurden, konnte Electric Power Design sie als maßgeschneiderte Lösung in die vorhandene Schaltanlagenstruktur einbauen.

Beide 3er-Sätze (einer steuerbord, einer backbord) werden über einem SCC2-Computer gesteuert.

Ergebnis

Voltage distortion has been reduced significantly and continuous monitoring of the vessel’s power quality has been achievedDie Spannungsstörung wurde deutlich* verringert, und es wurde eine fortwährende Überwachung der Stromqualität des Schiffes möglich. Damit hält die Seacor Glory die ABS-Normen ein und bietet zusätzlich den Vorteil, dass sich die Leistung des Schiffes besser überwachen lässt. Vor den Regelungen von 2015 war es auf Schiffen nicht erforderlich, dass sie ihre Stromqualität überwachen müssen, sodass Belastungen und andere Probleme ungeprüft blieben. Mit den neuen Vorschriften und dank solcher Tools wie dem ADF PPM300 und dem SCC2 haben die Schiffsbetreiber nun eine bessere Kontrolle über ihre Schiffe und können auf diese Weise Probleme mit der Stromqualität vermeiden und damit auch die zugehörigen Ausfallzeiten.

Ein Problem, mit dem viele Schiffsbetreiber konfrontiert sind, ist, eine Lösung finden zu müssen, die zu der jeweils besonderen Architektur ihres Schiffes passt. Dies war bei der Seacor Glory nicht anders. Doch die Flexibilität, die ADF Power Tuning bietet, ermöglichte es Electric Power Design, eine Lösung in Form von Komponenten zu liefern – statt kompletter Einheiten. Dadurch entfiel bei der Seacor Glory ein komplizierter und teurer Umbau.

* Mit ADF Power Tuning wurde die Gesamt-Oberschwingungsbelastung der Spannung von 24 % auf weniger als 7 % verringert, wobei auch bei allen einzelnen Oberschwingungsbelastungen deutliche Verbesserungen zu verzeichnen waren. Zur kontinuierlichen Überwachung der Oberschwingungsbelastung des Schiffes ermöglicht der Steuerungscomputer SCC2, die Daten zur Stromqualität über den ModBus mittels einer SPS auszulesen.

With the flexibility that comes with ADF Power Tuning, Seacor Glory was ensured to  meet the voltage THD mandates from ABS

ADF Power Tuning

Case story: Seacor Glory

Seacor Glory achieves ABS compliance and more

Seacor Glory

Voltage distortion has been reduced significantly and continuous monitoring of the vessel’s power quality has been achieved

Background

Operating a fleet of offshore marine support vessels, Seacor Marine’s main operation involves offshore oil and gas exploration and production. One of their ships, Seacor Glory is a dieselelectric offshore cargo ship equipped with DC (direct current) motors and is presently operating in the Gulf of Mexico.

Challenge

Seacor Glory was refurbished between 2014 and 2015, making the ship susceptible to the latest American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) electrical and mechanical directives. According to these regulations, Seacor Glory’s vessel type and grid type necessitates an 8% voltage THD (total harmonic distortion) limit and 5% individual voltage harmonic limit. Due to the the severe voltage notching associated with the SCR (silicon controlled rectifier) drives and DC motors aboard the vessel, uncompensated distortion was high – in excess of 20% voltage THD!

Furthermore, due to the unusually low ceiling of Seacor Glory’s switchgear room, the switchgear cubicles are short. The cramped space also meant that a compact solution was optimal.

Solution

In order to ensure Seacor Glory would meet the voltage THD mandates from ABS, ADF Power Tuning was implementedIn order to ensure Seacor Glory would meet the voltage THD mandates from ABS, marine power quality solution supplier Electric Power Design implemented ADF Power Tuning.

Shipped to Texas and implemented into the switchgear in early 2015, the solution was then shipped to the vessel itself while in port in Namibia for installation in spring 2015. The solution was then finally commissioned during the summer of 2015.

Each side of the ship’s 600 voltage bus bar was fitted with a set of three ADF PPM300 units. The PPM300 is the inverter module in an ADF P300. In this case, Seacor Marine purchased components (not complete systems), which were then custom-installed in the vessel. Thanks to the systems being shipped as components, Electric Power Design was able to fully integrate a tailor-made solution into the existing switchgear lineup.

Additionally, each set of three units (one starboard set and one portside set) is controlled by a SCC2 control computer.

Result

Voltage distortion has been reduced significantly and continuous monitoring of the vessel’s power quality has been achievedVoltage distortion has been reduced significantly* and continuous monitoring of the vessel’s power quality has been achieved. Seacor Glory is thus compliant with ABS regulations—with the added benefit of enabling the vessel operators to better monitor the ship’s performance. Prior to 2015 regulations, vessels were not required to monitor their power quality, leaving distortions and other problems unchecked. With the new mandate and tools such as the ADF PPM300 and the SCC2 computer, ship operators have enhanced control of their vessel, thereby avoiding power quality problems and the down time associated with them.

A common problem that many vessel operators face is finding a solution that works with their ship’s unique architecture – and Seacor Glory was no different. But with the flexibility that comes with ADF Power Tuning, Electric Power Design was able to deliver a solution in the form of components (rather than complete units), saving Seacor Glory from complicated and expensive redesign.

*With ADF Power Tuning, voltage distortion was reduced from 24% voltage THD to less than 7% voltage THD, with significant improvements noted for all individual voltage harmonic distortions as well. Furthermore, to achieve continuous supervision of the vessel’s voltage distortion, the SCC2 control computer provides a solution where the power quality data can be read out from a PLC (programmable logic controller) over Modbus.

With the flexibility that comes with ADF Power Tuning, Seacor Glory was ensured to  meet the voltage THD mandates from ABS