ADF Power Tuning

Slide background

Fallbericht: TiZir, Norwegen

Modernisierung des Titan- und Eisenwerkes TiZir–
Tyssedal, Norwegen

Hintergrund

Während der Überholung der Anlage Tyssedal und der Erweiterung des 690-V-Netzes wurde das vertikal integrierte Zirkon- und Titanunternehmen TiZir vom Betreiber des Stromnetzes darauf angesprochen, dass die Oberschwingungsniveaus einzuhalten seien. Ein wesentlicher Teil der Anlagenaufrüstung bestand in der Erweiterung der Umrichter, die die Maschinen von TiZir mit Energie versorgen. Wenngleich diese Umrichter für die Produktion von TiZir wesentlich sind, wurde anlässlich der Erweiterung eine Oberschwingungsdämpfung der Anlage erforderlich.

Während der Aufrüstung der Anlage wurde das Netz zudem um Transformatoren erweitert. Für eine solche Erweiterung ist die Zustimmung des Netzbetreibers erforderlich. Hier stimmte der Netzbetreiber den zusätzlichen Transformatoren zu, nicht jedoch ohne TiZir darauf hinzuweisen, dass die Vorgaben zu Oberschwingungen einzuhalten wären. Bis dahin hatte TiZir keine Lösung zur Oberschwingungskompensation verwendet.

Aufgabe

TiZir stellte sich damit die große Aufgabe einer Normeneinhaltung.

TiZir versah Comsys mit weiteren Informationen, damit sich die Größen und Leistungen berechnen ließen. Comsys gab daraufhin eine Empfehlung zur für dieses Szenario geeigneten ADF-Power-Tuning-Lösung ab, der TiZir zustimmte.

Lösung

Comsys erhielt von TiZir eine Aufstellung der Lasten und Informationen zur möglichen Installation. Daraufhin konnte man berechnen, welche Dämpfungsleistung durch ADF-Aktivfilter für das 690-V-Niederspannungsnetz erforderlich wäre. Auch dem von Comsys vorgelegten Vorschlag mit dem notwendigen Kompensationsbedarf stimmte TiZir zu.

Die vereinbarte Lösung umfasst zwei ADF-P300-270/690-Einheiten, die im Schaltanlagenraum verbaut werden.

Solution included two ADF P300-270/690 units in the switch gear room

The accepted solution included installing two ADF P300-270/690 units in the switch gear room

Ergebnis

Die Aktivfilter ADF P300 wurden Ende 2015 bereitgestellt und Anfang 2016 in Betrieb genommen. Die neue beziehungsweise erweiterte Anlage TiZir Tyssedal läuft seither erfolgreich und entspricht in vollem Umfang den Anforderungen des Netzbetreibers.

Die Aktivfilter ADF Power Tuning hat die Comsys AB im schwedischen Lund entwickelt. Mit unserem globalen ADF-Partner-Netzwerk bieten wir Lösungen für die hochwertige Energieversorgung an und unterstützen so weltweit Branchenführer dabei, die Produktivität zu steigern, Kosten zu senken und die Kohlendioxid-Emissionen zu reduzieren.

ADF Power Tuning

Slide background

Case Story: TiZir, Norway

Upgrading the TiZir Titanium and Iron Facility –
Tyssedal, Norway

Background

During the process of refurbishing and expanding the 690V grid in their Tyssedal plant, TiZir, “a vertically integrated zircon and titanium business,” was approached by the electricity grid company and told that they needed to comply with harmonic levels. A key part of the facility upgrade involved adding more drives in order to power TiZir’s machinery. Although these drives were important for production, their addition meant that TiZir now needed to reduce harmonics at the plant.

Also during the expansion, TiZir added transformers to the grid. When a company adds transformers to the electrical grid, they require permission from the grid company. In this case, the grid company approved the additional transformers, but informed TiZir that they needed to comply with their harmonics guidelines. Prior to this, TiZir did not use any harmonic compensation solution.

Challenge

The main issue TiZir faced was compliance.

To achieve compliance, TiZir supplied background information to Comsys so that they could conduct a sizing/assessment for them. Comsys then made a recommendation regarding which ADF Power Tuning solutions would be right for this scenario, and TiZir accepted.

Solution

Comsys received the load list and installation information from TiZir, then made a calculation to determine how much ADF (active dynamic filter) power/harmonic mitigation power was needed on the 690V low voltage grid. Comsys supplied TiZir with a proposal to meet their compensation needs, which TiZir accepted.

The accepted solution included installing two ADF P300-270/690 units in the switch gear room.

Solution included two ADF P300-270/690 units in the switch gear room

The accepted solution included installing two ADF P300-270/690 units in the switch gear room

Result

The ADF P300 active filters were supplied in late 2015 and commissioned early 2016. The new and improved TiZir Tyssedal plant is successfully up and running, and is fully compliant with the demands of the electrical grid company.

Comsys AB developed the ADF Power Tuning active filters in Lund, Sweden. Working with their global network of partners, the ADF Partner Network provides active filter solutions to industry leaders worldwide, enabling them to increase productivity, and simultaneously save money while reducing their carbon footprint.